09
Mar
10

Gospel and culture

Joe Kapolyo is minister of a church in London. He is also a member of SU council and grew up in Zambia. His sessions with us included a look at the way in which the gospel and culture are connected and what we should do about.

Although this is not a new area of thinking for me, the African perspective was really helpful. It made me stop and think about my own culture and how it impacts the way I see the Bible and faith. I know that my working class upbringing influences how I see the world. It makes me value extended family and friends more than my current middle class culture. I also need to be willing to critique that working class upbringing. My left wing political views have their origins there too and I also need to put those under the microscope of the Bible.

I need to allow my core values to be shaped by God so that I can more and more be shaped by him and made into his likeness

0 Responses to “Gospel and culture”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

