15
Mar
11

Not prayer again! – march 15

Reading: Matthew 6, Highlighted reading Matthew 6:5-14

Why is prayer the last resort rather than the first thing we do?

Jesus gives us a pattern for prayer – not just a set of words to be learnt and repeated (valuable as that is). The challenge today is to take that pattern – find 20 minutes on your own and write a prayer that covers the areas covered in ‘The Lord’s Prayer’. Then share your prayer here.

On a personal note I am still living with a challenge. Whilst in Egypt in November, I was deeply humbled by two things: 1) God working in a session on creative prayer which we had planned but which became not a training exercise but a real heart engagemernt, 2) The passion in prayer that I saw in people there – I have never seen that passion here. Learning to pray? I’m still just a novice!

2 Responses to “Not prayer again! – march 15”


  1. 1 Andy Sykes
    March 15, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Lord God, MY Father, friend and Saviour, thank you that you are above everything, bigger than everything, and yet still MY Father.
    Help me to do today things which will bring your Kingdom a little closer here on earth, with my friends, my colleagues, and others I will share my day with. Help me to follow your ways as I make decisions.
    You give me so much Lord God, that I have forgotten what it is I really need each day – help me to give to those in need, and pray for those who I cannot give to.
    Help me to know your forgiveness in a fresh way, a cleansing refreshing way which leads me to forgive others – show me who I need to forgive, and give me the strength to do it. Keep me away from the things which tempt me and give me determination to keep my eyes fixed on you, today, tomorrow and always.
    Give me the strength and energy for this day, and help me to rely on you in all things.

  2. 2 Rosemary Wright
    March 15, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Yes, I have prayed, based on the Lord’s Prayer but it was very wordy!
    I’m using the Message for this Lent and am being really blessed – I know it’s not a translation but is bringing such a freshness to the Gospel.
    I love this Lord’s Prayer:-
    Our Father in Heaven,
    Reveal who you are.
    Set the world right;
    Do what’s best –
    as above, so below.
    Keep us alive with three square meals.
    Keep us forgiven with you and forgiving others.
    Keep us safe from ourselves and the Devil.
    You’re in charge!
    You can do anything you want!
    You’re ablaze in beauty!
    Yes. Yes. Yes.


Leave a Reply

